Weekly Photo Challenge (Beyond)

To all mrscarmichael’s followers you may have already guessed that you are in the midst of a ‘Barcelona break’ fest having seen my previous post. It isn’t over yet  – not by a long ways.

Hey, I took 400+ photos and I’m gonna use them. Well, some of the better (and publishable ones anyway).

I was struggling yesterday to decide on my micro theme and have chosen Beyond Plenty. I have picked this because, as I’m sure you know, Spain is in the throes of a terrible recession/depression and they are not alone. It is obvious when you walk the streets of Barcelona. Shops are closed and there is visible poverty on the pavement.

But something the Spanish have not let go of is their food markets and their magnificent, fresh, unadulterated, unpackaged within an inch of its life comestible produce.

Gracias a Dios.

makes you want to eat all your greens (mrscarmichael)
makes you want to eat all your greens (mrscarmichael)
and your reds (mrscarmichael)
and your reds (mrscarmichael)
choice of four cuts of jamon (mrscarmichael)
choice of four cuts of jamon (mrscarmichael)
gambas para todos (mrscarmichael)
gambas para todos (mrscarmichael)
put some fire in your belly (mrscarmichael)
put some fire in your belly (mrscarmichael)
and for afters (mrscarmichael)
and for afters (mrscarmichael)

Salivating yet? i know I am and I’ve just had breakfast.

24 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge (Beyond)

    1. Exactly. This was my fourth visit to Barcelona and I could see changes. Then round the corner…….
      The unemployment situation is terrible though and I even met two young grads asking if I could get them jobs in London.

  1. A visual feast that sizzles! Okay, can’t wait to see those 400 plus pics. I bet there are all amazing. Were those crawfish in one of the pics? Houstonians are crazy about them including me.

    1. Thanks. I do have to admit I didn’t read the whole brief. But the disparity between the wonderful markets/ the Roedo Drive shops and the number of people on the streets got me down a little.

now it's your turn

