Is it a Bird? Is it a Plane? Is it from Bethlehem or is it Another Blog of the Year 2012 Star?

arrrgh, it's blinding me (123rf.com)
arrrgh, it’s blinding me (123rf.com)

It has been a frantic Christmas week in Casa Carmichael. The bins are full, the fridge is empty, the one remaining dog has never had so much turkey (let alone cauliflower cheese, stuffing and a sneaky pig in blanket) in his fourteen and three quarter years and the clan is resting and ‘enjoying’ Christmas specials on the television – those that are awake.

Me, I’ve caught up on two and a half hours of Coronation Street with Mr Carmichael who has just this moment done a bunk to the water logged driving range in the semi dark to ‘hit a few balls’. Good luck with that one, Sir. I’d be surprised if the course were even open.

That means that I cannot, as planned, go get a manicure (thankfully not booked) because someone has to wait in for the washing machine repair man.

Here’s a question. What white good can a family of six and a very dirty dog really not do without? Bingo. Got it in one. The manicure must endure relegation.

Apart from the washing machine all other appliances are good to go. Thank heavens. We had one year when the waste disposal exploded all over my Louboutins (I wish) on Christmas Day with friends and family awaiting festive fare in the next room and another when the gas boiler broke down.

double whammy (boty-2star)
double whammy (boty-2star)

Anyway my enforced residency gives me the overdue opportunity to explain why I proudly display two stars on my Blog of the Year 2012 Award when I was only last week crowing about numero uno and to rapidly fire, whilst mixing metaphors with abandon, the baton onto those more deserving than me and to thank the awarder of my delightful second yellow pointy thing.

The Eternal Traveller in cahoots with The Adventures of Justin Beaver have right back at me’d and I can tell y’all  I’ll take what I’m given. And like it. More than like it. Thank you both.

Now I eulogised about The ET in my previous award ceremony so JB it’s your turn and your Christmas tree tribute to my 2012 conifer debacle recounted in Me, Thee or the Tree made me smile so much (re-blogged as We’re Going Viral…..Here’s to You, Mrs Carmichael!).

As a child I had a little pink story book about a family of bees who travelled the world with an umbrella. It wasn’t a particularly fine story but even then I enjoyed the peripatetic existence the honey makers enjoyed and Justin Beaver reminds me of the protagonists (very boy scout keen but a little bit socially inept as well. Come on guys I can write that. He’s a beaver). That said, I’m looking forward to sharing some green and pleasant with you in 2013, JB.

NB: Mr Carmichael has just returned, balls unhit. Sometimes just being right is such a wonderful thing. However the washing machine man has also rung to say his visit is in peril. ‘Visit’? Man, it’s a duty call. No ifs no buts. I have explained my level of disappointment and am crossing fingers for a truly post Christmas miracle. Come on star, show him the way.

Now as we all know, 2013 is almost upon us. No time to waste. Here, again then, are the rules.

The ‘rules’ for the Blog of the Year 2012 Award (from the creators of this award) are simple:
1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award.
2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.
3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award –http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/ and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!). I took special notice of that rule.
4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them.
5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience.
6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…!
You can find the award designs here: http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/

Blog of the Year Award banner 600

And my stars go to:

JENERATION WHY? whose posts from the city of angels always pique my interest and I hope this blogosphere stroke will make her Caribbean cruise go a little more smoothly.

dailydoseofNOOR who doesn’t in fact write daily but when she does her posts are always worth reading and most eclectic (in a good way).

Redirecting Chaos You could not get a realer blog than this. Well written and gritty, this gal’s scripts could be the basis for the next ‘Girls’.

and blueberriejournal because I am in awe of Sonja’s linguistic capacity. I wish I could write my blog in a foreign language too.

8 thoughts on “Is it a Bird? Is it a Plane? Is it from Bethlehem or is it Another Blog of the Year 2012 Star?

  1. Justin Beaver is thrilled that he got a personal mention in your post, and being likened to a Boy Scout is a great compliment! He loves all that outdoors stuff, as long as spending time with birds is not included. (He’s had some unpleasant experiences with birds in the past)

  2. This is interesting… What is the connection? Justin has three theories. 1. Mr C is a boy scout leader. 2. Mr C loves camping, hiking, fishing etc. 3. This is Justin’s personal favourite and the one he thinks is most likely to be true. Mr C was once mistaken for the chick of a sulphur crested cockatoo and nearly whisked away to the cockatoo’s nest.

now it's your turn

