Dogs Do Know Best

does this guilt you as much as it does me? (provenance unknown)
does this guilt you as much as it does me? (provenance unknown)

Someone posted this on my Facebook page a week or so ago and it spoke to me. Well woofed at me anyway. Firstly it looks like my Goldie. It obviously isn’t and probably isn’t even a Golden Retriever but it has the same eyes and those eyes do speak, let me tell you. My one remaining dog, F…….’s were begging to be taken out for a walk in the rain, Daddy Does the Dog Day and crying guilt by proxy as Chairman of the Four Footed Bertie Admiration Society in all of his older brother’s canine capers in Making ‘Naughty Dog’ a Life’s Work. Bertie was after all the Just William of the dog world*.

But think about. It’s so true. They not only adore us but think we are perfection. We are in their big brown eyes sugar coated Jumbones, Gourmet liver and tripe and doggy choccy drops all smoothed into one. We are the cow pats, fox scat and/or horse manure they love to roll in/eat and the only security they know. They don’t compare salaries, suck up to the boss or bitch behind each others backs. They don’t throw tantrums but watch while we throw ours. Then lick us. They just eat the food we give them. And love us for it.

We can be kind or horrid and I, for one, don’t think they judge. They are creatures of habit and their habit is to be happy. For the most part. If we let them.

Where am I going with this you ask. And honestly I’m not exactly sure but this week while being bombarded with the utter horror that mankind is capable of I sort of think dogs have it right. We most certainly do not.

Here’s another image a friend emailed me yesterday.

a dog doing what dogs do best (provenance unknown)
a dog doing what dogs do best (provenance unknown)

Again, the doppleganger of my one remaining dog. They are identical. This is the dentist’s goldie and he calms worried and frightened patients. What’s a few dog hairs when you can have your own near dolphin bonding experience at the dentist?

And finally an angeleno friend posted this on my facebook wall. It’s a doggy themed Monday. But if it doesn’t prove my point nothing will. This is Watson, a Sharpei and I think he’s awesome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN-MjUC4f9k

JuBurrett is the owner of the video you’ve just watched.

My boy, F……. has just come in to tell me it’s five o’clock and because I want to be the person he thinks I am I gotta run.

“Coming, Boy. Dinner’s almost in the bowl.”

this is not a flagrant attempt to get my christmas tree into yet another photo, M'lud. it's where he chose to wait (mrscarmichael)
this is not a flagrant attempt to get my christmas tree into yet another photo, M’lud. it’s where he chose to skulk (mrscarmichael)

* all rights to the ‘monica’ Just William belong to my friend T……. who accompanied us on many walk and is therefore in a position to know.

Are we in agreement? They, just possibly, do know best. Let’s give them a chance to put things right. It seems to be too hard for us.

23 thoughts on “Dogs Do Know Best

      1. I don’t let my daughters OR Mr Carmichael read my blog. By accident, when Daughter #1 borrowed (without asking) my pc she read a little more than she bargained for and got very cross.

        I pointed out to her that we had agreed she wouldn’t go on my pc and therefore she was taking her chances. Then I forced her to read every post to prove that I wasn’t singling her out in any way.

        She did actually laugh at my rendition of Mr C’s hand break driving in St Lucia (an early post). His driving is funny to read about but not to actually endure.

  1. Utterly adorable video. I really miss having dogs around (allergies… sigh) but I like visiting with people who have them, where I can sneak in a pat or two, and then wash my hands! x
    Sweet

    1. OMG. I almost chocked on my morning mango. Thank you so much. Today will be filled with trying to get things into the sidebar!!!!

      I have already found mrs fringe because of you so will look the others up. Oh ad-lib is also my friend. it’s funny how like finds like isn’t it?

      Thanks again and thanks for following me too.
      Enjoy a fluless Christmas.

    1. It’s hard to argue isn’t it?

      Unfortunately it’s pouring here today so Daddy does the dog day but he’s off on a Christmas bender so as per my post I’m pulling on my wellies. Well, I will soon.

now it's your turn

